5th Annual Washington Women in Journalism Awards

Washingtonian and Story Partners kicked off the White House Correspondents’ Dinner weekend by honoring influential women in journalism at the fifth annual Washington Women in Journalism Awards on April 26th.

Co-hosted by Gloria Story Dittus, chairman of public affairs firm Story Partners, and Cathy Merrill Williams, publisher of Washingtonian, the awards reception gathered a few hundred Washington influencers and media at Gloria’s home in Kalorama to celebrate four award winners who embody excellence in reporting and play a vital role in covering the most important issues of the day, especially in today’s media landscape.  

The award winners were selected from an advisory committee made up of public affairs and government relations professionals and congressional press secretaries. They include: 

  • Lifetime AchievementAmanda Bennett, Voice of America 
  • Broadcast TelevisionAmy Walter, The Cook Political Report 
  • Broadcast RadioAudie Cornish, NPR 
  • Print: Lynn Sweet, Chicago Sun-Times

Thank you to our sponsors: The National Retail Federation , PhRMA , American Beverage AssociationJohnson & JohnsonNational Association of ManufacturersSouthern Company  , TimeWarner, and Johnnie Walker.